Classic Morocco Royal Cities Tour

Morocco Trip

A classic seven-day tour to Morocco featuring the best natural and cultural highlights of historical cities, small villages, and vibrant markets. All our Morocco tours are with a small group of travelers like yourself, but if you prefer personalized travel, we can customize this tour for you. Morocco tours guaranteed group and private departures for 2024 and 2025.


Bespoke Tours

Most tours are customized for private travel.

Nothing could be more introductive of Morocco's captivating qualities than its Majestic Imperial cities. With a powerful history that is thousands of years old, exceptional cultural and social diversity, and immeasurable intellectual depth, Morocco's distinctive nature enriches all who experience it. Our Morocco small group tours are all about exploring the in-depth cultural aspects of Morocco.

If you have only eight days to spend in Morocco, this is the best tour to explore this fascinating country's history, architecture, culture, and cuisine. On this Morocco cultural tour, you will visit Rabat, Meknes, Volubilis, Fez, and then the Atlas Mountains, which lead to the best man-made oasis on earth, Marrakech. Join in the spirit of exploring the best of Morocco's cultural tours with a small group or independently as a private party to be customized as a private Morocco Tour. All our tours are guaranteed departures and the best price to meet your budget. Contact us for other cultural and adventure Morocco tours.

DAY TO DAY ITINERARY

Day 1: Trip from Casablanca to Rabat

Once you land at the Mohamed V Airport in Casablanca, your guide will meet you at your arrival gate and take you immediately to check in to your hotel in Rabat. This is a wonderful short drive of about 45 miles through lush farms and exotic plants. You will spend your day discovering the delights that Rabat has to offer. Your guide will take you on a historical and lively tour of the Jewish quarter, the Mellah in the Heart of the city, starting at Place Sidi Makhlouf. The 12-century ramparts are best seen from this landmark. Walk up to Bab Chellah in the medina and cross Sidi Fateh St. This will lead you to the traditional Souk Laghzel (Yarn market). Your guide will introduce you to the importance of this guild in the textile role in Moroccan society. Later, you will cross to the citadel of the Oudaya Kasbah, entering from its 12th-century main gate to explore an extraordinary Medieval Moorish marvel overlooking the delta of the Bourgreg River. You can visit the old-fashioned Moorish gardens, stop in a traditional coffee house for mint tea, and explore the Oudaya Museum of tribal arts and Crafts. A docent will introduce you to conventional Berber Textiles. You will continue your quest by exiting the Oudaya Kasbah and climbing the hill to visit the Hassan Tower and Mohamed the V Mausoleum, an emblem of real Moroccan architecture at its finest. At the end of your tour, you will reach the Royal Palace and the Necropolis of Chellah. Finally, you will return to the hotel for dinner and other accommodations.

Day 2: Transfer from Rabat to Fez

Today is the day of time travel! This journey will take you from imperial Rome to the ninth century A.D. Unlike the movies, this temporal voyage will take almost the entire day. (Of course, there will be stops along the way.) The first stop will be the ancient Roman city of Volubilis. Volubilis was a critical city in the imperial Roman department of Mauritania (modern-day Morocco and Western Sahara) during the reign of Caracalla. Volubilis is impressively well preserved, and the genius of Roman urbanism is still intact. The two central integral streets in every Roman castrum, the Cardo and Decumanus, are prominent. The Cardo is the north-south boulevard, and the Decumanus is east-west. The intersection of the two is the heart of every Roman city. There, you will find the ruins of the ancient forum.

Jumping forward in time and just a few minutes away is the venerated citadel of Moulay Idris of Mount Zerhoun, founded in the 8th century by Moulay Idris Al Akbar. This citadel is considered the cradle of Sufism in Moroccan society and the first Islamic capital for the premier Arab dynasty. The Holy Moroccan city was created primarily for the indigenous population that migrated with Moulay Idris from the Middle East. You will drive around 15 miles to the next stop, the imperial city of Meknes. Meknes is a 17th-century city built by Moulay Ismail to rival Fez. It is also considered to be Morocco's Versailles.

Finally, you have reached your destination, the ninth-century city of Fez. In the evening, you will taste the greatest Medina in the world. You will also visit the sights outside the ancient walled city, including the ramparts, the gates, and the Moorish Forts. After this introductory guided tour of Fez, you will dine in your hotel and prepare for day three: Fez Medina!

Day 3: Full day guided tour of Fez

Your guide will meet you in the morning at your hotel lobby to take on a city tour exploring the marvels of Fez. Undeniably fascinating, Fez stimulates the senses with its haunting yet beautiful sounds, visual splendor, and evocative smells. The most ancient of the imperial capitals and the most complete medieval city of the Islamic world, Fez is reminiscent of a city suspended in time, unfazed by the constantly evolving world outside of its walls. Fez owes nothing to the Western world to save electricity.

Time spent in Fez will reveal much about the sophistication of the Moroccan artisan, providing an unparalleled learning experience to those who cross its path. Your morning will be spent visiting the Medina.

Our specialized guide will take you on a historic discovery of Fez, starting at the King’s Palace and its Meshwar with ramparts and majestic gates. Next, you will explore the Jewish quarter, a 15th-century citadel with all its Moorish maze architecture and medieval glory. Visits to Sephardic synagogues and mausoleums of holy Rabbis will be the highlights of this part of town. Then, we will drive to the Merinides hill to visit their necropolis. Here, you will enjoy the best panoramic view of the old walled Medina, brimful with countless minarets to call for prayers in a city that has responded to these calls for 12 centuries. Drive down the hills to the gate of Bab Guissa to leave your vehicle and enter an ancient world.

Fez has preserved its Medina as it was centuries ago. Not even a bicycle can be used as a tool for transportation. Only donkeys, mules, and horses can help move all the city produces and needs as supplies. The first guilds you will immediately encounter are the cobblers, the saddlers, and blacksmiths, interlaced by some caravansaries for tribesmen who come from the surrounding areas to trade and supply their needs. Down the hill to Juteya, you will encounter all sorts of crafts, but noticeably carpenters and leather workers as one of the traditional tanneries is not far. This walk will lead you to El Ashabine Square, which has a variety of activities. From there, you will wind your way to the Sgha square, which will lead you to Attarine, then Souk el Henna, and the Mausoleum of Moulay Idris, the founder of Fez. Next to it, you will visit Nejjarine Square, which has a famous fountain, a Guild of Carpentry, and a Museum of Folk Arts at the Fondouk. You will walk to the tannery and visit the Great Mosque University of Al Quarrawiyyine, passing by Shemma’ine, the dried fruit market. After that, you will visit the Medersa Attarine and walk to Sbetryyine, a guild of bookbinders, which will lead you to the Seffarine Square, where the tapping of metalworkers is still deafening passersby as it was the case for centuries.

You will break for lunch and then continue exploring the marvels of Fez Medina. These will highlight the Dyers souk, Foundouk Tetouan, and the shrine of Sidi Ahmed Tijani. You will end your walk at Foundouk Lihoudi, where a local Fez family will host you for a traditional mint tea at their home. Finally, you will return to your hotel for dinner and other accommodations.

Day 4: Travel from Fez to Marrakech

You will spend your day discovering the rural environs of the Atlas Mountains’ Berber villages, wards, and nomadic settlements. Covered with evergreen pines, tall cedar trees, and poplars, and laced with flowing streams, your first view of the Middle Atlas will appear oddly un-Moroccan. Passing by Imouzzer, with a quick stop at the Swiss-like town of Ifrane, you will soon come across the first real town of the Middle Atlas, Azrou. Azrou is an important market center for the region’s Berber tribes, located at a major junction of mountain routes. Your driver will take a little detour in a cedar forest to introduce you to one of the oldest inhabitants of this region, the Barbary apes. This may also coincide with the encounter of a nomadic family at its temporary encampment. As nomads are very hospitable people, whenever we encounter them we are all invited at least for a mint tea under their tents. At El Hajeb, the Middle Atlases give way to the Zemmour Hills that would lead to a comfortable ride via the highway. After lunch, you will descend the Atlas Mountains finally arriving in the foothills which overlook the magnificent oasis city of Marrakech Alhamra. Some of the aforementioned stops will include visits to Berber villages, scenic views, and traditional markets. You will conclude your day with dinner and other accommodations at your hotel.

Day 5: Full day Marrakesh historic tour

Your tour will cover many impressive sites, including the Koutoubia Minaret (which is identical to la Giralda, a tower found in Sevilla, Spain), and the Saadian tombs, which demonstrate Moorish architecture at its best. The tombs consist of sixteenth-century mausoleums, which had lain walled-in and undiscovered until 1917. Next, you will explore the gardens of the Agdal then the Marjorelle. In the evening, you will return to your hotel for dinner and other accommodations. In the afternoon, you will attend the Jamaa El Fna square to enjoy the folkloric activities. Afterward, you will enjoy dinner at the hotel.

Day 6: Excursion to Ourika Valley

You will begin your day with an excursion to the Ourika Valley, where you will visit the traditional Berber Souks, as well as the Jewish shrines. After lunch, you will visit the Berber Museum of Arts and Crafts to learn about the dwellers of these mountains and their products before you discover their workshops and sophisticated, hand-made products. You will return to Marrakech for dinner and other accommodations at your hotel

Day 7: Transfer to Casablanca Airport

In the morning, our driver will transfer you to Casablanca airport to catch your flight back home.

What is included:

  • Six night accommodation in 4 star hotel
  • Breakfast, and dinner daily
  • Services of local guides
  • Hotel taxes and service charges
  • Transportation in Deluxe vehicles
  • Entrance fees to Monuments and Museums

Hotels Used:

  • Rabat: Hotel Oudaya, 1 night
  • Fez: Hotel L’Escale, 2 nights
  • Marrakesh: Hotel El Andalous, 3 nights
DEPARTING FINISHING SEATS TOTAL IN USD
Sun 30 Jun 2024 Sun 7 Jul 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Wed 3 Jul 2024 Wed 10 Jul 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sat 6 Jul 2024 Sat 13 Jul 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Tue 9 Jul 2024 Tue 16 Jul 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Fri 12 Jul 2024 Fri 19 Jul 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Mon 15 Jul 2024 Mon 22 Jul 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Thu 18 Jul 2024 Thu 25 Jul 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sun 21 Jul 2024 Sun 28 Jul 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Wed 24 Jul 2024 Wed 31 Jul 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sat 27 Jul 2024 Sat 3 Aug 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Tue 30 Jul 2024 Tue 6 Aug 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Fri 2 Aug 2024 Fri 9 Aug 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Mon 5 Aug 2024 Mon 12 Aug 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Thu 8 Aug 2024 Thu 15 Aug 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sun 11 Aug 2024 Sun 18 Aug 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Wed 14 Aug 2024 Wed 21 Aug 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sat 17 Aug 2024 Sat 24 Aug 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Tue 20 Aug 2024 Tue 27 Aug 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Fri 23 Aug 2024 Fri 30 Aug 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Mon 26 Aug 2024 Mon 2 Sep 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Thu 29 Aug 2024 Thu 5 Sep 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sun 1 Sep 2024 Sun 8 Sep 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Wed 4 Sep 2024 Wed 11 Sep 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sat 7 Sep 2024 Sat 14 Sep 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Tue 10 Sep 2024 Tue 17 Sep 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Fri 13 Sep 2024 Fri 20 Sep 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Mon 16 Sep 2024 Mon 23 Sep 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Thu 19 Sep 2024 Thu 26 Sep 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sun 22 Sep 2024 Sun 29 Sep 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Wed 25 Sep 2024 Wed 2 Oct 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sat 28 Sep 2024 Sat 5 Oct 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Tue 1 Oct 2024 Tue 8 Oct 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Fri 4 Oct 2024 Fri 11 Oct 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Mon 7 Oct 2024 Mon 14 Oct 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Thu 10 Oct 2024 Thu 17 Oct 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sun 13 Oct 2024 Sun 20 Oct 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Wed 16 Oct 2024 Wed 23 Oct 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sat 19 Oct 2024 Sat 26 Oct 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Tue 22 Oct 2024 Tue 29 Oct 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Fri 25 Oct 2024 Fri 1 Nov 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Mon 28 Oct 2024 Mon 4 Nov 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Thu 31 Oct 2024 Thu 7 Nov 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sun 3 Nov 2024 Sun 10 Nov 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Wed 6 Nov 2024 Wed 13 Nov 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sat 9 Nov 2024 Sat 16 Nov 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Tue 12 Nov 2024 Tue 19 Nov 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Fri 15 Nov 2024 Fri 22 Nov 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Mon 18 Nov 2024 Mon 25 Nov 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Thu 21 Nov 2024 Thu 28 Nov 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sun 24 Nov 2024 Sun 1 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Wed 27 Nov 2024 Wed 4 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sat 30 Nov 2024 Sat 7 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Tue 3 Dec 2024 Tue 10 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Fri 6 Dec 2024 Fri 13 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Mon 9 Dec 2024 Mon 16 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Thu 12 Dec 2024 Thu 19 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sun 15 Dec 2024 Sun 22 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Wed 18 Dec 2024 Wed 25 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Sat 21 Dec 2024 Sat 28 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Tue 24 Dec 2024 Tue 31 Dec 2024 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Fri 27 Dec 2024 Fri 3 Jan 2025 Available $1465 INQUIRY
Mon 30 Dec 2024 Mon 6 Jan 2025 Available $1465 INQUIRY

Cost per person: $1665 USD

Single supplement: $285 USD

MAKING AN INQUIRY

Tailor your Morocco experience with our private tours, crafted to suit your interests and schedule. Click below to share your preferences and let us create a personalized journey just for you.:

Customized Tours